Fictional restaurant-What’s our purpose? What do I bring to this project? What’s our goals?

I have never thought of myself as a business entreprenauer, much less owner and designer of the newest seafood bar & restaurant.  I am much more of a behind the scenes person.  I enjoy talking to people and I am considered very social, however when it comes to performing a task, I am a loner.  When I first found out that this assignment was a group project, i was terrified.  I have been “burned” in the past when i depended on someone else to do a task. I also do not make a good order giver when it comes to assignments.  I can give orders at home all day long but do not like being boss.   Since researching what is expected however, I realize that without the help of the others there is no way, I can do it alone.  I have a heavy class load this semester, I work full-time, and I have a family including a 12 year daughter.  My life is crazy. 

My group includes Bradley Y, Britnee C, and Brandon C.  Bradley has kept in constant communication with the rest of us and this helps tremendously. He has given each of us task that are all separated fairly. The ideas have all been shared and everyone’s opinion has been asked. qI exchanged the idea of a seafood or beach side restaurant.  I recently visited the Florida coast and ate at McGuires, AJ’s, and Dewey Destins.  The atmosphere was fun, the food was fabulous, and the prices were all affordable.  The places all seem to serve as a temporary escape from reality, where there is never enough time to do everything.  The employees were all cheerful and helpful, setting aside their own life problems while they earned money.

My responsibility of the project is to come up with ways for our restaurant to control waste and this in turn saves money.  I also am responsible for creating the menu.  I am anxious about this endeavor and find it fun but at the same time nerve-racking.  I want to create good quality food and also provide good quantity without being wasteful.  I believe with everyone’s effort our restaurant will thrive and be very successful. We hope to provide an escape for people to have a healthy, fun, and affordable place to eat.  We also want to contribute to the community and incorporate innovative and cost efficient ways to acquire our own food for our restaurant.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Fictional restaurant-What’s our purpose? What do I bring to this project? What’s our goals?

  1. I was also very nervous when it was announced that we would be working on a group project in this class. In general I do not mind group projects and I agree with you that it does lessen the work load for each person greatly. I feel though that doing a group project in an online class is more trouble then it is worth. Our group has been running into some technical problems with put us at a slow start. It sounds like your group dynamic is great and that always helps with these type of projects. I like the idea of your restaurant and find it interesting the direction you are going! Good luck on your project!

  2. I really like that you guys have decided to create a seafood restaurant! It is a lot different from what my group and are creating, an all-vegan restaurant. I cannot wait to see your finished product and compare it to what we are doing! It sounds to be pretty difficult, but it seems that you guys have really broken up the tasks well which makes it so much more organized!

Leave a Reply

