Writing-how much time daily is spent doing this?

A day in the life of Honey:

6:30 am- I awake to the sound of Luke Bryan singing on my phone alarm.  I journey to the kitchen for a drink either coffee or coke.  I am on Facebook, Instagram, or checking emails minutes later before the daily chaos starts. By this time, my 12 year old daughter is up usually blaring music from her bathroom as she gets ready for school.

7:00am – I am signing papers, permission slips, or writing notes for my daughter to take to school.

7:20am- I drive my daughter to school and music is an important staple.  We usually talk about  a new song or new artist that one of us has heard.  Sometimes she is showing me a new Vine video.

7:45am – I am back home and usually by now I am on the computer either on UC blackboard, Pinterest, Facebook, or posting/viewing posts on Ebay, Poshmark, or some local selling website. This continues for about 2-3 hours.

Around 11:30-1:00 – I am fixing something for lunch/supper,doing laundry  and getting ready for work. I write my daughter a text list of things she needs to do when she arrives home. She despises the chore list but things tend to get done that way.

1:00-2:15- I am back on the computer, checking/responding to  emails, and  working on assignments.

2:45 – I arrive at work.  I am a Medical Lab Technician and work at a level 3 trauma center.  I perform tests, QC, and send test results on all patients that have lab orders.  I have to call critical values and document the call.  We often have to fax results and fill out tons of paperwork on our reference lab orders. I work in the Chemistry and Blood Bank departments. My shift ends at 11:00pm.

11:30- I arrive back home and I usually check and post to Facebook once again and then  the school workload continues usually til 1:00am or later. Then at 6:30am it repeats all over again.

Right now, my life is CRAZY!  I  don’t know if it’s that I am not a good organizer or what, but lately there doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day.  I hope that it will slow down when I am finished with school.  I would like to get back to some normalcy and routine sleep.  My family is helpful and we all manage well in this techno world with our laptops, tablets, computers, and smart phones.  I didn’t realize how much time each day is spent on “our gadgets”. I have grown more and more dependent on all levels of social media due to school, work, and keeping connected with the rest of the world. The amount of writing, if all these social medias are included, are a part of most of my day.

Thanks,

Honey Stivers

Leave a Reply

